2019 Pritzker – Arata Isozaki

Arata Isozaki accepts the Pritzker 2019 award

Arata Isozaki Pritzker prize 2019

Article by


Pritzker Prize

Published on

28 May 2019

Arata Isozaki accepts the 2019 Pritzker Prize

Arata Isozaki officially received the 2019 Pritzker Architecture Prize, in a ceremony at the Chateau de Versailles in France. Isozaki, who has been practicing architecture since the 1960s, has long been considered an architecture visionary for his transnational and fearless futurist approach to design. With over 100 works built to his name, Isozaki is also incredibly prolific and influential among his contemporaries. Isozaki is the 49th architect and the eighth Japanese architect to receive the honor.

Premio Pritzker 2019 al Castello di Versailles in Francia

The ceremony is held annually at an architecturally significant site around the world, with the choice of the ceremony location reinforcing the importance of the built environment through a unique setting. Built in 1624 by Louis XIII, Versailles has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1979.

Video of the award ceremony

The ceremony was attended by Pritzker Executive Director Martha Thorne, Jury President Stephen Breyer, Hyatt Foundation President Tom Pritzker and 2019 Graduate Arata Isozaki.

The winner received $ 100,000 and a bronze medallion, based on designs by Chicago architect Louis Sullivan. On the one hand there is the name of the prize, while on the reverse, three words are inscribed, “firmness, merchandise and pleasure”, recalling the fundamental principles of Vitruvius’ Roman architecture of “firmitas, utilitas, venustas”.

Find out more about the 2019 Pritzker Prize

See our AutoCAD dwg drawings of the best Arata Isozaki architectures

The following are images of the architecture of Arata Isozaki.
These images may only be downloaded and distributed in connection with Arata Isozaki’s announcement that she was named 2019 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureate.
Photographers / photo books / artists must be accredited if noted.
All images are copyright of the respective photographers and artists cited, and courtesy of the Pritzker Architecture Prize.
Click on each image to download a high resolution file.

Arata Isozaki Architectures

related posts

2021 Pritzker – Lacaton & Vassal

Pritzker 2021: French Lacaton & Vassal win Alejandro Aravena, president of the jury of the 2021 Pritzker Prize, called them…

9 April 2021

2020 Pritzker – Y. Farrell and S. McNamara

Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara Receive the 2020 Pritzker Architecture Prize Chicago, IL (March 3, 2020) - Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara of Dublin, Ireland,…

8 March 2020

2018 Pritzker – Balkrishna Doshi

The Pritzker Prize is one of the most prestigious awards in the field of architecture. In 2018 the winner of…

20 December 2018

related architectures

Turin Olympic Stadium

House of nine squares

Hayashi House

MOCA museum

Kamioka Town Hall

D38 Office